Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-05-02 - 9:22 a.m.

I did it. In spite of getting a cold, and the fact that I had to get up at the crack of dawn to do so, I went and walked in the Revlon Run/Walk 5K with my friend, E. It actually didn�t take too long either, just over an hour and a half (there were about 40,000 other people walking, some with baby carriages, others wheelchairs, and more than one very pregnant woman). All in all, it was fun and I raised $115 for a very worthy cause.

Thank you all who supported me including: my cousins Ei and Reni, Maria and Rachel who've become my friends in spite of having never met me in the flesh, my off-line and also fabulous friends J, S and P, as well as the anonymous giver, whoever you are!

Most of all, thank you, E, for joining me in our early morning adventure.

As for my Friday volunteering experiences thus far, they have been overwhelmingly positive. I�ve enjoyed both the kindergarten inclusion class and the first grade self contained class but I think if I had a choice, I�d prefer to teach in a self contained class.

There are far less kids so you can devote yourself to those who need more help. I�m actually glad now that I�m teaching special ed rather than general elementary. Now that I�ve met these kids and seen some of what they are capable of, I realize that they are not all that different from the general ed when they get the kind of support and help that they need. I feel like I can really make a difference with these kids.

Of course, I�m still freaking out a little that in only a few short months I�m going to be the one in charge of these kids. Its so different from any other job I�ve ever had that I have absolutely no knowledge of how to form a lesson plan or how to manage my classroom and keep order.

I�m reading a great book that was recommended to me but I�d love to get one more specific to special ed � but there are just so many different titles out there that I have no idea how to choose. I think I�ll ask the teacher next week if he or she has any suggestions.

�

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!