Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-04-11 - 10:58 a.m.

I checked the status of my application to the NYC Teaching Fellowship and this is what it said:

"Status Information: Accepted"

That's right, I said it, Accepted! Can I get an Amen?

Reading on:

"Dear Ethel:

Congratulations! On behalf of the New York City Department of Education, we are pleased to inform you that you have been accepted to the 2004 NYC Teaching Fellows program.

You are tentatively assigned to teach Special Education."

Doh! This is where it gets heavy. I was well aware that this was most likely what I would be assigned if I was chosen, I even told the interviewer that I was interested in Special Ed because I am drawn to helping those that need it most, yet now that its happened I'm a little nervous about it.

Will I be able to help these children? Can I handle it? I suddenly feel unsure of myself and everything else.

On top of that, accepting this means definitely not moving to Vegas (at least for another two to three years depending on how long it takes me to finish my Master's program)

That said, now is not a time for worry and stress. Right now, I should celebrate, right? So that's what I'm going to do today and tomorrow, well... Let's just say I've got some heavy thinking ahead.

Thank you all for your support! Your notes and words of encouragement were wildly appreciately.

Oh...and Happy Easter! Go eat Peeps and be joyful.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!