Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-03-16 - 8:12 p.m.

My mom taught me from an early age, the old adage, "If you have nothing nice to say, say nothing at all."

Its something I feel has been lost in today's society. People seem to have become so self-inflated in importance that they truly mistake their opinion for truth.

I told my mom the other day, "Opinions are like assholes, everyone's got one and they're usually full of shit." She giggled in that motherly way whenever someone speaks in bawdy language.

We were discussing my new tattoo but she was not the topic of my ire. She was very polite in her commentary of the new piece - a shock to her senses I'm sure since its the size of a dessert plate and its on her baby girl.

(Pictures will be posted when the scabbing has gone)

No, actually my anger was directed toward a friend who hasn't even invoked it yet...but she will. Its impossible for her not to be critical. She endlessly bemoaned my hair color when I had gone blonde - and that was only temporary.

So I'm actually amping myself up for the exchange because I've been waiting for an opportunity to discuss her hypercriticism openly.

It was "Hairgate" which basically relegated our relationship to secondary friends - more than acquaintances because of shared history but rarely more than superficial.

The thing is - I really like her. She's smart and witty. We can have great conversations and debates on a variety of topics.

But...

She's so inflexible. The last time that I pointed out the fact that her opinion was not only not asked for - but unwarranted she told me, "I'm just trying to help you. I don't feel right about letting you continue to look bad."

Help me? Help me! You can help me assist you to an early grave if you keep going on that tact.

Alright, so maybe its crazy that I'm already anticipating a problem and initiating a fight in my mind. Maybe I do need help...to let go of the anger from "Hairgate" which happened 2 or 3 years ago... but maybe this will give me the opportunity to do just that.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!