Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-02-09 - 6:07 p.m.

It seems the closer we get to making a decision about the move the more unsure I become. I'm playing the Pro/Con game a lot these days.

I told my boss that we were considering a move to Las Vegas and she was so fantastic that I started to freak out that I will most likely never have as a great a boss again.

She was not only completely understanding and supportive but when I mentioned that part of my desire to move was based on the ridiculous real estate situation in New York she said,

"Not that I want to influence your decision - you should do what you both feel will make you happiest - but if you do decide to stay we should discuss this further and see if we can't work something out so that you will be able to buy something instead of renting."

I'm not sure if she meant a loan or a raise or what but I know that she honestly meant it. She genuinely cares about her employees happiness.

As much as I might complain about my job - I can't pretend to love what I do - but I do adore my boss. She's the best.

So...am I crazy to leave? Con.

Then I think about how leaving in this manner, I won't be burning any bridges so if things don't work out in LV I can come back.

Plus, in LV I'll have the opportunity to try something else - teaching perhaps - maybe even go back to school. It could be the best opportunity to really find out what I want to do careerwise. A definite Pro!

Then there's the apartment situation. We could get a beautiful, amenity-laden apartment for far less than its NY equivalent. We're talking two bedroom, Washer/Dryer, Dishwasher, Patio even a Fireplace for around $850 - $900/month. Pro.

But we've already got a spacious apartment that's super convenient for a ridiculously low price (due to the fact that my Landlady is my friend's grandmother).

Sure its not fully loaded with dishwasher, patio, and fireplace, but I do have a washing machine (and my landlady let's me use her dryer)AND I can put my dog out in the backyard anytime I want!

Can I conceivably give up this goldmine? What if things don't work out in LV and now I've got to come back and try and find something else? Super CON!

If only I could find a reliable person that I know and trust to sublet to for a year. Then maybe I could comfortably take the plunge. (Please no solicitations - I'm just musing here)

Then there is the whole Friends & Family equation. I'd miss them I'm sure. Con.

But I'd also get a chance to meet some of the great new friends I've been making on-line. Pro.

So.

Should I stay or should I go? The answer is I just don't know.

Ooops! I screwed up the links - I've corrected it now.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!