Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-01-02 - 10:59 p.m.

The bf and I have a deal that if one of us cooks the other one cleans. Its a good theory, this division of labor, but it has its inevitable flaws.

For instance, B has this habit of using seventeen spoons every time he makes a meal. Instead of rinsing one spoon to stir each pot, he needs to use a different one each time.

I have a bad habit too... of leaving things "to soak" for days on end.

Yesterday my sweet boy made me a ham with all the trimmings - unfortunately in the process he poaked a hole in the aluminum pan and drippings spilled out all over the oven baking into a sticky, stinky mess.

Just now he was possessed with an urgent need to make brownies but when he turned on the oven a sickly sweet aroma of burnt ham arose.

Because he didn't want ham-scented brownies it became obvious that the oven would need to be cleaned - by me, in his opinion, since he had cooked the ham.

Needless to say, I was less than overjoyed at the prospect of cleaning the oven at 11 pm on a Friday just when I had settled down onto the couch for serious vegetating.

But since arguing seemed like a pointless effort I sprayed the oven and cleaned it as best as I could in ten minutes so he could have his brownies before tomorrow.

Naturally all that burnt on gunk would not come off so easily, meaning that I will be cleaning the oven yet again tomorrow.

All because I was to lazy yesterday to make my own damn ham. I really must learn to enjoy cooking more.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!