Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-12-20 - 7:27 p.m.

You'll never believe this...

I went to brunch with my closest friend, DancingQueen, and then we decided to do a little Xmas shopping - I had only bought my mother a switch plate which seemed a little less than appropriate.

We were at a jewelery store looking at rings when DQ's cell phone rang. It was her mom calling to say her Grandmother passed away!

As we took a cab down to the hospital DQ alternated between laughter and tears and we talked about how ridiculous it all was.

Two nights ago at my grandfather's wake I had jokingly said, "Let's all do this again soon," and just that morning DQ had said she needed a few days off from work and I quipped about my week off for funeral rites.

Only a few hours before we had talked about my eulogizing skilz and now here she was contemplating her own.

It was crazy, sad, and absurd all at the same time. Like a soap opera but without the cool clothes, fancy cars, oversized apartments, and steamy sex scenes.

Ah life, what a kick in the pants you are!

UPDATE*** I just found out that my friend Fran's grandfather died the day after she came to my grandfather's wake. I'm starting to feel like the angel of death.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!