Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-09-22 - 2:05 p.m.

Five questions from cryondemand

1. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

I guess it would be my perception of myself - which is possible to do but DAMN is it hard. I�d like to believe in myself more so that I wouldn�t give up on myself so easily. Its like with my writing, as soon as it gets hard or I�m not sure where I�m going I just quit. I haven�t finished a story in so long, and even the ones I did �finish� need reworking but I�ve labeled them finished and therefore untouchable. Say what you will about the One-hit-wonders of the world but realize this: they�ve accomplished one - which is one more than I. Maybe that�s why they are so easy to revile, their accomplishments aren�t so much more than ours yet they feel light years away.

2.What�s your dream vacation? The one that never ends� If I could choose my own success, I would love to be a travel writer going from place to place, exploring and recording my experiences for others to follow or live vicariously through.

3.Is there a song that typifies your life? �A� song, as in just one? I don�t think my essence can be boiled down into just three minutes of music or words but I�ll give it a shot. The song that comes to mind is �I want a little sugar in my bowl� by Nina Simone. When I�m blue I put that song on repeat and listen to it for hours. BTW, Repeat is my favorite function, B�s favorite is random play; if that�s not an indication of our fundamental differences I don�t know what is.

4.What makes you happy? Another deceptively simple question and the simple answer is, �Damned if I know.� If I knew, I�d be able to be happy all the time. Sometimes I stumble across happiness, or it blows by me like a warm breeze but then I look for it and can�t find hide nor hair of it. In the past I�ve found it in a kiss, laying in a hammock, in a good book, at the bottom of bottle, while holding a puppy, driving a car on an empty road, watching a sunset, listening to a thunderstorm, at the movies, under the bed, in the grass, up a creek without a paddle, in the sun, the moon, the stars, the rain, the snow, in all the colors, in chocolate sauce, on the top of a mountain and across the desert sands.

5. If Hollywood were to make the movie of your life, which actor would play you? As I haven�t yet achieved the requisite Five Trailer Moments, Hollywood isn�t knocking down my door to by the rights to my life story so its difficult to imagine. Yet in my idealist mind, I would cast Maggie Gyllenhaal to play me because I adore her. I find her to be intelligent and sexy, and while I find her very attractive her appearance isn�t so over the top to be unbelievable in this role.

Alternatives include: Alison Lohman, Lili Taylor, Janeane Garofalo or Juliette Lewis, all of whom I admire and respect for their work and their intelligence.

�

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!