Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-09-08 - 10:38 p.m.

Today is my Mom's birthday. She turned 64. I took her out to dinner to celebrate her day and to thank her for not drowning me in a tub when I was a small child. She said it was a struggle, small wet children are rather slippery you know, but she's glad she resisted the urge.

It looks like she might be retiring soon as well. She was going to wait until 65.5 in order to get the maximum from social security and her pension but her employers offered her a package that may make it worth her while.

That would be great, not only so that she can enjoy her life while she's still young enough and in good health, but also so she can be a companion to my grandfather who unfortunately is not doing as well as he was following the surgery.

I've really got to go visit him. I love my grandfather very much but I seem to have a real problem avoiding people with illnesses. I did it with my Dad and now I'm doing it again. I just can't stand being helpless. I've got to suck it up because I know I'll regret it if I don't.

I saw two praying mantis yesterday. I couldn't help but wonder what a mantis would pray for. Probably another mantis - one of the opposite sex. The last time I saw a mantis I was 10 and I learned that they were endangered and that one could be fined for killing one - or so my cousin told me but then he killed it anyway. It made quite a splat.

I just read that Warren "Werewolves of London" Zevon passed away which is so sad. He was only 56. I wonder, will they play "I'll sleep when I'm dead" at the funeral?

Godspeed Warren, may they answer heaven's door as soon as you knock.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!