Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-09-03 - 5:10 p.m.

Domo Arigato, Mrs-Roboto! for introducing me to The Interview Game

Mrs-R: Okay! Here they are. Have at it.

1) You are allowed to go back in time and relive one 24 hour period of your life. You are not allowed to make any changes to that day. You have to relive it just as it happened. What day do you choose and why?

My first impulse was to relive the day I was born for sheer curiosity sake. Its one of the two life events you get to do only once (no matter what those religious zealots say about being born again in Christ).

But then I thought about it and realized its probably not a very pleasant day - perhaps that's why we can have no recollection of it.

I tried to think about momentous events that I might like to experience: first kiss, first dance, birthdays, graduations, etc., but there wasn't one in particular that stood out - certainly not my first sexual experience as that turned out to also be my first one night stand - and since I can't change the past why bother going back.

So my choice is more vague, I would like to relive a day in my life before it was ever touched with the knowledge of death to once again feel that anything were possible and be innocent and fearless; I would be fairly young maybe six years old. I'd like it to be a day with my father, one of the times we went horseback riding just the two of us.

2) Go back in time to the day you graduated high school and try to recall where you thought you'd be at this moment in time. How closely does your present life represent what you thought it would be. Is it better or worse?

When I graduated High School I was convinced of two things: my father was going to die and I was going to be a fashion designer. I thought I would most likely marry my then-boyfriend. I figured I'd probably have a couple of kids by now, and I would own a big house and an El Camino.

My father did die (four agonizing years later), and I dropped out of the fashion design program two years in because, well, I wasn't talented or driven enough and I didn't want to wind up sewing someone else's label onto underwear.

I haven't thought about that particular boyfriend but now that I do its with a cringe. What deranged state of mind was I in? He was possessive, controlling, and he once punched me in the face (okay, I was caught kissing another guy at the time but still, no need for violence).

I have no children and don't think I want any (although sometimes I do fantasize about naming one. Jesus Earl for a boy, the girl's name changes too frequently to say).

I am not married, but I am living in sin with the man I love. He's nothing like my fantasy boyfriends but then, who is? My only regrets are the house and the El Camino but there's still time.

3)Umm, I think it's time for an easy one. What is the most embarassing record/cd/tape cassette you have in your collection and when was the last time you played it?

I think I have a Yanni CD in a box somewhere - it was given to me with my first CD player but I haven�t seen or heard it in years. Initially however I did find it soothing sleep music. Now anything New Age ratchets my nerves higher than nails on chalkboard.

I also have a 45 size flimsy piece of plastic with a personalized birthday song that goes, "My name is Zoom and I live on the moon and I came down to earth just to sing you this tune. Hey, Ethel, its your birthday today!" I played it about two years ago for B because he'd never heard of it.

4) You have just received a $100,000.00 from a long lost relative who has passed on. It's not a ton of money but enough to make a few lifestyle changes. What do you do with the cash?

Quit my job - decide what I really want to do. Maybe go back to school, but I'd take out a student loan for that. Move out of Brooklyn. Put a down payment on a house. If there's anything left over, I'd still like that El Camino (even though the environmentalist in me leans toward a hybrid electric car - but why are they so damn ugly?!)

5) If you were asked to name your greatest adversary over the course of your life thus far who would it be and why (sidenote: no naming yourself here as I just don't buy it, I want a real enemy).

This is a really tough question. As a child, it was probably an older cousin who used to beat me up regularly and once pulled my bikini top off in front of all the boys (it didn't matter that I had no ninnies, the embarrassment was still the same), but I've forgiven her. She had a rough life, much tougher than mine and I imagine my so called perfect childhood irked her beyond control.

As a teen, there was a girl who morphed from friend to foe to friend again who had been my arch rival for the affection of a mutual friend, but that was so long ago and I never see either of them anymore.

On occasion I consider B's ex to be my nemesis (she once crashed a party we were at, she still owes him money, and she persists in inserting herself in our life) but I hate to give her that much status.

Still she does burn me in a way no one else has since the Ho that my ex cheated on me with but since I dumped his ass (okay, he dumped me first but I got to squash him when he came crawling back) it lost its flavor quicker than a quarter gumball.

I sometimes think god hates me but then I remember I don't believe in him so why should he believe in me, right?

So I'm going to have to say that my arch enemy is. . . Katie Couric. Oh sure, she seems perky and sweet on camera but that bitch has had it in for me since she blew into this one horse town.

Wanna play along? Then you'll need to

a) Sign the guestbook, saying you want to be interviewed.

b)I will respond; I'll ask you five questions.

c) You'll update your website with my five questions, and your five answers.

and

d) You'll include this explanation and ask five other people five questions when they want to be interviewed.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!