Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-08-28 - 8:18 p.m.

A man holding a green flyer stopped me the other day in the street. I assumed my usual thanks-but-no-thanks stance, but when he said the magic word - Free - I came to full attention. Free movie? Bring a guest? Yeah, that's my bag, baby! "Don't you want to know the name or what its about," he asked. "Its about FREE, my good man and that's good enough for me."

So, I may not be Cameron Diaz but I did feel like a VIP when I went to the private pre-screening of Jack Black's new movie School of Rock .

Frankly, I had seen the poster a week earlier and the premise, Jack Black as a down and out rocker who's just landed his biggest gig. . . the fifth grade," made me think, "Well there's a movie I wouldn't shell out ten bucks to see." How prophetic of me.

Remarkably, DancingQueen and I enjoyed the movie very much - but then we got most of the musical references. Alot of the other audience members were much younger than we (including one really loud and annoying girl wearing hot pants so small that they could be used as dental floss). But everyone seemed amused by Jack Black's antics as well as the kids. Usually I'm overly critical of child actors but these kids pretty much held their own.

Overall, I wouldn't pay to see it a second time but I would watch it on video and I would recommend it as a good clean fun Back-to-School romp.

Speaking of Back to School, last night I received my swap box from Rachel

Its filled with all kinds of good stuff - including the most gorgeous fall soap, dum dums (yum), a mug, stripey note pads, fabulous note cards, silver marker, stapler, yummy gummy candies, a cool pen/pencil holder, magnets, sparkly paperclip holder, etc.

Don't you wish you were me?!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!