Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-08-15 - 3:26 p.m.

So what were you doing when the lights went down? How did you get home from Blackout 03?

These are the questions that have been buzzing around the Northeast today as we all share our stories of survival and tales of woe.

I work on 66th and Central Park West and live in Brooklyn. My co-worker J and I set out dreaming the impossible dream - getting the express bus - but alas the dream truly was impossible.

The crowds were too thick, the buses too packed so we switched gears (and directions) and tried to find the elusive Brooklyn Ferry. We didn't find it.

So we hoofed home over the Brooklyn Bridge where my beloved B was waiting to pick us up.

You know I've often thought, "Hey I need to work out more, and I hate the subway...maybe I should try to walk to work...." Well, now I know if I ever want to do that, I need to leave five hours earlier, and I shouldn't wear flip-flops.

But still all in all, we made across okay. I saw so many elderly people, pregnant ladies, small children and handicapped individuals making their way across that my small woes seemed smaller by the mile.

It took nearly three quarters of an hour to find B in the dark, among the throngs of sweaty swaying masses. But finally I did and hopped in the car chugging the water he thoughtfully brought us.

All was well until about a mile from home when the car broke down (in an area that was shall we say, less than good where I wouldn't want to break down in broad daylight). We tried pushing it but couldn't get more than a few blocks. AAA had closed their services for the night.

Then an angel of mercy answered my frantic call. I flagged down a passing car (brand new at that) who agreed to push us with his car the twenty or so odd blocks to my home.

I wanted to thank him, repay him for this kindness but he sped away as soon as he saw us safely turn down our block. Sometimes you have to trust in the kindness of strangers. Thank you wherever you are!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!