Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-07-10 - 8:59 p.m.

Since my Summer escape into the world of green grass, good graces, and all that is genteel and great in the country I've come to realize somthing.

Walking on the steamy sidewalks on my way home from the subway I've noticed how ghetto my neighborhood actually is.

Not bohemian, not grungy or gritty or filled with character, its straight out ghetto. For example, people have grills and baby pools out on the sidewalk...not the back yard, not the front yard, not even the fire escape, but the SIDEWALK.

And then they look at me like I have ten heads as I try to step around their semi-submerged spawn as they try to splash me.

Jeez and I thought I was white trash. I mean I know I had plans for a tar beach but still...

And in my head I hear

"Oh people don't you understand This child needs a helping hand He's gonna grow to be an angry young man some day Take a look at you and me Are we that blind to see? Do we simply turn our heads and look the other way?

And the world turns And the hungry little boy with the runny nose Plays in the streets as the cold wind blows in the ghetto...

In the ghetto..."

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!