Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-07-10 - 7:43 a.m.

So as I said in my previous entry there were a few snags in my weekend.

The first was when we arrived...and found the doors locked. We were told that the house would be unlocked and the keys left on the kitchen table. The owner, who lives next door, wasn't home and I wasn't getting a signal on my cell phone.

Finally, by standing in the middle of the road I did get a signal and could call the realtor but the connection was bad and we were cut off midsentence. She had said she had keys but couldn't get there for half an hour.

I left B with the cat and dog on the front lawn and went to town for supplies. When I got back about 45 minutes later she had just gotten there. It seems that she had tried to call me back to let me know that there was a spare key hidden in the backyard but the cell phone situation is laughable...a shame since we were hoping to be able to use our free weekend minutes instead of racking up long distance at the house.

The other issue (and my lunch nearly) came up when I took a shower. The water smells like rotten eggs, I mean it reeks. That's right girls and boys, there is sulphur in the well water. When we saw David (the owner) the next day we did tell him and he admitted that it was a problem but that the filter should be eliminating most of it. He was very attentive and called me later that day to say that the filter service person would be by this week to check it out.

B is going up this morning and I'll be going greyhound tomorrow so I told B to call me and let me know the water situation beforehand. Because frankly my own funk is less fetid than rotten eggs. Luckily the scent doesn't really linger on you afterwards but frankly the experience is bad enough to make me consider dry shampoo and baby magic as my weekend beauty routine!

Well I hope you all have a pleasant weekend...smell you later!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!