Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-05-16 - 8:32 a.m.

Random musings:

Is it me, or does it seem like the season finales happen earlier and earlier. Its only mid-May and already they're over.

Speaking of finales- Loved the season's end for Friends and Will & Grace, hated the series end of Dawson's Creek - but then again I've hated myself for watching that show for this long...and now I'm free, free!

Speaking of free - Since my job gives me a free unlimited metrocard every month, I really have no right to complain about the fare-hike but I'm really glad that the courts ruled that the MTA was wrong and should roll it back. Its always the working-poor who are expected to shoulder the economic burden of the city.

And increasing the sales tax doesn't help either. Its only going to encourage people to shop in Jersey or online.

Right now my cat is on my lap licking and biting me. I've had to kick him off three times. This has been happening more frequently. According to the vet, its a love thing, a passion thing. Cats are known to bite each other in the heat of sex.

So what do I do about that? Its not like I can say "Sorry, Moe, but I just don't feel that way about you. I love you, but I'm not "in love" with you."

I had my Mentor training on Wednesday. I'm really getting excited about starting, but I still have to wait for my fingerprinting clearance. It takes anywhere from six weeks to two months usually.

The average mentor has to wait three months for all the clearances. The average mentee sometimes waits years because there aren't enough mentor volunteers.

I think more people should consider mentoring. I'm reminded of what Tim Robbins said on Bill Maher's show. After September 11th, the President made a speech about what the average person could do to defeat terrorism, instead of telling the people to go out into their community and make a difference, mentor a child, support the arts, what did he tell us to do? To Shop.

That's some snippets from the last 48 hours of my life!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!