Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-03-20 - 7:34 p.m.

First, a lesson in US government with regards to impeachment in particular. �The impeachment process provides a mechanism for removal of the President, Vice President, and other federal civil officers found to have engaged in �treason, bribery, or other high crimes and misdemeanors�.� So to those people who have come out publicly to request the impeachment of Bush for the war in Iraq, I hate to burst your bubble but creating an unpopular war is not grounds for impeachment per se. In fact, according to the laws of our government, Section VIII of the Constitution, it is Congress who actually declares war. The President acts as Commander in Chief of the military.

Now, if you agree with Bush�s actions with respect to removing Hussein, I suppose you must concur with other nations� rights with respect to removing Bush (namely, by force) since it is clear that Bush has access to weapons of mass destruction and has declared his intention to use whatever force is necessary. While I have no love of George Walker Bush (or his daddy for that matter) I am not endorsing the use of force by another nation (mainly in protection of my own hide) I am merely pointing out the obvious argument.

Second, to those people who have gone on record to declare themselves �Ashamed to be an American� I�d like to say that I am ashamed that you are too. For myself, I am proud to be an American (despite current events) because it is as an American that I have the freedom to say

That I oppose this war,

That I do not support Bush�s actions in Iraq,

Nor do I agree with his policies on a great many topics (including his environmental policies which are completely buried beneath the onslaught of media attention to the war),

And that it is my sincerest hope that he not be re-elected,

without fear of reprisal.

Speaking of reprisal, can you believe this ridiculous censorship by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences? Oh wait, you can�t - because its more internet bullshit. Susan Sarandon is on the list of scheduled presenters so...so much for her being blacklisted. As for the statement that presenters have been asked to stick to the script, they are asked to do so every year. Its done in the interest of time along with the fact that being asked to present an award is not an invitation to speak out on their personal views. I can accept that. As for the winners of the awards, I feel that they should be allowed to speak their piece because acceptance speeches are an unscripted forum. Since it is live television, I have no doubt that they will.

Getting back to my unashamed, unabashed Americanism I will say that I believe that in spite of any actions taken by the current leaders of our government one should always be proud of one�s nationality. For it is not one act, or one person that defines who we are as a nation. Bush does not make America. Congress doesn�t either.

WE THE PEOPLE of the United States of America make this nation what it is. There is a reason that we created laws limiting the powers and terms of our elected officials, a reason that we created laws to protect our civil liberties, created a government where all men are considered equal.

It is for these reasons that I am proud to be an American. (Yes, I know that there are corruptions and misuse of power in our government but I still believe that what we�ve created has merit and is cause for pride) I do believe that we, the people, can make differences and changes in our government if we work at it.

Drink of the Day: Bushwacker (disclaimer: this is not an endorsement of the "wacking" of any Bush)

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!