Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-03-06 - 5:04 p.m.

The other day I received a chain letter in the mail and like all chain letters it started out �This is NOT a chain letter� Hmmm�.I believe you because I usually start all of my general correspondence that way. It goes on to say that the letter is indeed a �Scratch and Win contest,� and in fact there is a scratch off ticket inside the envelope. Okay, maybe I was jumping the gun when I cursed the letter writer and her family. But reading on I find out that the scratch off ticket isn�t for me. I�m supposed to send it on to the person at the top of the list. Send four letters with scratch off tickets to my friends and put my name at the bottom of the list. If I do all that, within a few weeks I�ll receive 16 scratch off tickets in return. BUT its not a chain letter�no, its worse even than that; it�s a PYRAMID SCAM! Didn�t we realize the folly of those in the early nineties? Well, I refuse to entertain such silly notions such as getting rich off the kindness/stupidity of others. I value my friends to much to subject them to this kind of trickery either. My only dillemma: should I send the stupid scratch off ticket to its intended receiver or not. I�ve been carrying around the damn thing for days. Do I not send it in order to teach a lesson that such scams don�t work (for long anyway) and also because I don�t feel that I should have to invest my time and 37 cents in perpetuating such games - OR - Do I send it because its rightfully supposed to go to her even if I find the method and route distasteful and it would be bad karma to keep it?

(Yes, I admit it. I am superstitious. I mean, there has to be a reason why I�ve gotten a new bruise every day this week AND I burnt my hand today�oh wait, that�s right, I�m a klutz!)

I welcome your input.

Drink of the Day: Orange Blossom

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!