Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-02-27 - 2:51 p.m.

As I said on the day before yesterday, I celebrated my father�s birthday by bowling, an activity he excelled at and loved like no other.

My mother, B and I went to Bowlmor lanes off Union Square, which is a hip bowling joint complete with day-glow pins, brightly hued bowling balls, waitress service and a computerized scoring system complete with cutesy cartoons between the frames showing how well, or poorly in my case, you did. There were a few private parties going on so we were sent to a lane far from the crowd which was fine by me. As I�ve said, I bowl once a year so I have no desire to showcase my stunning lack of talent or grace before a gaggle of gawking guys.

Our solitude was short lived however and a foursome of rowdy kids snagged the next lane sharing our seating space. First order of business for them was to order a pitcher of beer which one of them promptly spilled onto the benches soaking my scarf. Needless to say, I was annoyed even more by his cavalier attitude, �a little beer never hurt anyone,� to which I muttered, �you wanna bet?� imaging myself smacking him upside the head with it.

Had he simply apologized I would have been perfectly placated but he didn�t, so I stared him down and he wound up offering me a beer. Well, its no apology but I figured to him, it was worth more than one so I stopped scowling and let it go...until he spilled the beer AGAIN not even half an hour later.

Conveniently all the spills were confined to our stuff but this time he apologized profusely so again I let it go. I did however, urge my Mom and B to hurry our game along so that we could get out of there before they ordered another pitcher and had another spill.

We were going to have dinner afterwards but as I changed out of the bowling shoes and into my boots, I got a foot full of beer. Between my shoes and my scarf I reeked of Rhinegold and so I resisted the call of ravioli from the restaurant on the corner and just went home to a dinner of franks and beans, and of course (Drink of the Day) a beer.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!