Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-02-18 - 8:52 p.m.

SNOW DAY! Woo hoo!

Okay, normally I would not be this cheerful in the face of a blizzard but I was supposed to work on President's day and due to the storm I got the day off anyway - proving once and for all (to my mind anyway) that all holidays must be celebrated or take the consequences!

It wasn't actually much of a celebration since I spent much of the day cleaning my apartment because I thought that my landlady was coming up to fix my radiator. No such luck.

In case I haven't mentioned it enough, my radiator is busted so steam comes out full blast, making my living room balmy and moist like a tropical isle. Sounds nice, yet no it isn't. Replace "tropical isle" with "the sweaty inside of a gym shoe" and you've got the vibe. I must swab down the walls and ceilings otherwise they drip, the paint peels and, I fear, it will grow mold.

It also wreaks havoc on my electrical equipment. Its no coincidence, I believe, that my computer monitor burnt out. Thankfully, it was still under warranty but even this new one is acting up.

I must leave the windows open in order to alleviate the humidity. Which means that I had to shovel an inch of snow off the living room floor in front of them. But enough about that.

My car is completely buried. I can see the antenna and the outline of the roof. I have a small car but still, that's alot o' snow.

Today I had to walk over the dunes of snow that SOME people failed to shovel in order to get to the subway. Many folks abandoned the sidewalks altogther and just walked in the streets but frankly, I thought that was asking for trouble. Remarkably even though I left fifteen minutes later than usual and the walk to the station took twice as long I was only an hour late this morning .

I'm sure that by tomorrow I'll be completely sick of snow (or shall I say slush) but right now I'm still quite cheerful and complacent about it all.

Except, I must say, to you people who ravaged my corner store and bought every last container of milk and loaf of bread. What is up with that?! Its not like we live in Bumblefuck USA where a delivery truck won't be coming for weeks! Its a snow storm, not the second coming, for chrissakes.

I had milk and bread already, I only stopped in for some cat food but that shit just irks me. Call it a pet peeve, but it smacks of hysteria and I have little tolerance for that.

Like all the folks who duct taped up their apartments. Don't you realize that all you are doing is keeping fresh air out - you probably have more toxins inside your house right now than you would get through bio/chem warfare. My boss, a doctor, is from Israel where they actually have had these kinds of attacks and even she says duct tape is a bad idea.

But enough ranting and raving. I'm going to make some cocoa and look out at the snow.

Drink of the Day: Cocoa with a shot of Bailey's Irish Creme. Yum!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!