Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-01-31 - 8:26 a.m.

In the dead of night I awoke to the clang and clatter of metal bowls. Not wanting to expose my body to the chill night air I felt around the bed for B but he was significantly more unconscious or at least better at playing possum.

I willed myself to go back to sleep and almost had when the noise came again. Then I heard the dog sigh, I guess it woke her too. But at least now I knew the culprit; it was Moe the wonder cat. Mild mannered cat by day, the night (or a little cat nip) turns him into a crazy beast.

Moe was already on my shit list for biting and scratching me yesterday because I had the audacity to get up when he specifically wanted to be on my lap, putting a hole in my pants in the process.

So when I heard the clanging bowls for the third time and all hope for sleep was lost, I got up and staggered into the kitchen. Seeing his white figure by the bowls I marched up, grabbed the bowls and put them in the sink and then swatted him on the butt. "No more catnip for you, Buster," I proclaimed and then angrily went to bed.

This morning I stumbled to the bathroom and, as usual, Moe followed to give me the opportunity to pet him. I ignored him at first but he kept moving himself right into my field of vision, so I laughed, played a little scratchy-scratch with him and thus we made up. When I started brushing my teeth, Moe departed.

When I came out of the bathroom I found a little present waiting for me. A mouse. It was lying on the table, apparently dead. So now I know what all the clanging and banging was about last night. But I still am not sure if I missed the mouse lying there when I went into the bathroom or if Moe put it there afterwards because we had made up.

So to Moe, even though he'll never read this , "Um...thanks! But I wish you wouldn't put dead things on the table, especially on my oven mitts." When Moe wasn't looking I squeamishly picked said mouse up by its stiff tail and threw it in the trash along with the oven mitt. Then I tied the bag and put it outside for good measure.

Drink of the day: Well, since its not yet nine AM, I'm going to have to go with Mimosas. In fact, I'm actually going to make one now. Because I'm the kind of gal who has champagne chilling in her fridge at all times.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!