Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-01-06 - 8:05 p.m.

There was no mail today. Now normally this is a good thing, a reprieve from those blood sucking fiends that want my money in exchange for their shoddy services � Yes AOL TimeWarner, I mean you. Digital quality, my ass!

But I have begun the agonizing wait for a reply to my application to the New York Teaching Fellowship program. I applied on-line as suggested and was assured that I would hear back from them within three weeks. I was so excited when only two weeks had passed and I got a letter from the Department of Education. But alas, it was only to inform me that my attached resume file didn�t transmit properly. I faxed my resume three times but every time I called I was told they hadn�t gotten it. Then the holidays came and the staff was reduced to a skeleton crew, which apparently means anyone capable of finding my fax had gone on vacation. The unfortunate people left to man the office could not care less about me or my application.

Finally, I got confirmation last week that they had received my fax. So now I�m back to waiting. I hate waiting. I�m not a patient person.

It doesn't help that I'm completely bored at work. I played 17 rounds of spider solitaire today. You know its a bad sign when you start clockwatching at 10:30 AM.

On the upside, its snowing in that pretty but not piling up kind of way, which is the variety of snow I most appreciate. Because let�s face it, unless one is going skiing or sledding or building a snow man or other frosty fun activities, snow can be a real pain in the ass. Literally if you are clumsy like me; last night I fell down my front steps right on my now busted butt. I made the fatal mistake of trying to stop my forward progression down the stairs by grabbing onto the handrail which means that I only succeeded in wrenching my shoulder and bruising myself badly by the blunder. But it sure as hell looked funny � that much I have to admit. I scared my dog as I squealed and snorted slumped into the slush convulsing as much with laughter as cold. But the black and blue at the base of my spine is no laughing matter.

In honor of my fractured fat ass today�s Drink of the Day is A Piece of Ass

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!