Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-12-05 - 7:05 p.m.

I was going to write all about my Thanksgiving to tell you how B's family are all fabulously talented and SANE while my family is a bunch of loons arguing passionately about Bloomberg's budget cuts and the Pope's stance on pedophiles priests but never once speaking to each other about anything remotely personal. I was going to wax on about how my older brother called ME crass (Okay, I did say the Pope was practically a meat-puppet, but come on with him being so old and sickly do you really think he's aware of everything going on around him?) but no one said a word about my eldest brother's suggestion to kill the homeless or let them freeze to death, in particular the ones that hang around the ATMs.

But instead of going on about all that is nutty and nefarious in my world I am going to enjoy the exquisite beauty of the falling snow. I must say that there is something entirely magical about how snow can transform this city into one of the most breathtakingly serene of sights. Oh how I wish I brought my camera with me today. Its truly stunning right now. The snow is swirling around in the light of the street lamps and there is a furry white coat along the inside boughs of all the trees. I work right across from Central Park which is absolutely the most picturesque part of Manhattan.

I know, I know, everyone raves about the New York skyline and it is spectacular, but the juxtaposition of this enormous green (currently, white) oasis in the middle of the asphalt jungle just makes it so much more than just a park. To any of you who might be visiting my fair town this winter - forget Rockefeller Center - go skating in Central Park. Not only is it more beautiful but its also cheaper and less crowded. And while the Bronx maybe more well known, I would take the CP Zoo any day of the week. However, I do not recommend Tavern on the Green (although if you do go there you can wave to me across the street) its overpriced and overrated. I personally haven�t eaten at the Central Park Boathouse but I�m dying to. I hear that its better for lunch due to its pricey-ness. You can also take a gondola ride from there - of course, that is more of a Springtime affair.

It's no surprise that the man who designed my favorite park, the beloved Prospect (Gotta stick to your Brooklyn roots, Baby!) Park, also designed Central Park. Think I'll go check out the snow there now and then pop home for some fresh roasted chestnuts and a SoCo Cocoa!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!