Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-11-26 - 8:00 p.m.

My sympathy goes out to

Mrs-Roboto and all of you suffering the similar plight of a visit from the in-laws. For good or bad, I�ll never have the experience (at least I hope not because ghosts = scary) as both of B�s parents are dead.

It kind of makes is easier for me in the sense that we never argue about where to go for Mother�s Day, etc., but that�s not to say that I�m happy about it - though I did say something to that effect early on in our relationship. It went something like, "I�m shorta glad that your Mom�s� you know�cause Moms ushually don�t like me. At leasht this way she can�t hate me or nothing."

Clearly the demon liquor had cast its stupidity spell on me! Luckily, it had cast the forgetfulness spell on B - he didn�t remember a blessed thing about it when I clumsily apologized the next day.

That�s right, in one of those head clutching, stomach churning, "I�m so sorry about what I said about your

poor dead Momma while I was so drunk" kind of hang-overs, I foolishly

confessed to the man with no memory and embarrassed myself a second time.

Damn you, Demon Liquor!

B was downright gracious about it and has never brought it up once in four and a half years that have followed.

Seriously though, I hate that I�ll never get to meet his mother (I did meet his Dad twice before he died) and that he�ll never get to meet my Dad (yep, he�s gone too) because as much as we hate to admit it - our parents are very much a part of who we are.

My Dad was fun and irreverent and every bit of my sense of humor comes from him. Not to know him means you�re missing out on a side of me. The side that rode horses in the St. Patrick�s day parade, rode mopeds under the Verrazano Bridge, that sang country songs in the car, built snowmen and took sleigh rides, jumped off cliffs and rope swings into lakes. A huge part of my history was rolled up in that man. He was the one who took me to see grown up movies at the Drive-in even though I was too young for them, some were good like Breaking Away and Escape from Alcatraz, some bad like Chariots of Fire (I don�t care that it won an Academy Award - it was boring). He was the one who forced me to get back in the saddle when a horse rolled on me. I hated him for it then but, just like he said I would, I thank him for it now.

It makes me a little sad when I hear all the fun and silly stories about B�s Mom, sad that I missed out on that part of him that had imaginary friends and alter egos (Mike the delivery Man - who would always eat his vegetables). And anyone who loved Harold and Maude and The Gods Must be Crazy, who took a bus cross-country to Las Vegas, who survived two divorces without becoming bitter, who painted and sewed, loved life and laughing, played pranks and practical jokes, and who raised this beautiful being that I love more than myself sometimes�is someone that I want to know.

So I guess what I�m saying is although my heart goes out to each one of you whose in-laws fall on this side of crazy, when all is said and done I�d trade boats with you any (Holi)day of the week�

Happy Thanksgiving All! May your stomachs hold all that your eyes desire, may your football team of choice be fleet of foot, and may your company be joyful and leave as soon as you want them gone!

Drink of the Day: Thanksgiving Cocktail or just a shot of Wild Turkey!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!