Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-11-23 - 10:47 a.m.

An interesting side note to something Mrs-Roboto wrote, children in this country may be obese due to eating too many McNuggets but children in Oaxaca Mexico won�t be facing that same fate if all goes well in the Burger/Tamale War .

�The protesters also complained about the "terrible quality" of the company's food, which they consider detrimental to the people's general health. They also believe McDonald's lacks ecological sensibilities and contributes to the destruction of rain forests in Mexico and Brazil. Local musicians played indigenous songs as a backdrop to the event, while huge paper figures were erected as people shouted "No to junk food" and "Yes to Oaxaca's great cooking."

Now I�m all for preserving the authenticity of the look and cuisine of Oaxaca Mexico. When I saw the signs proclaiming �No al McZocalo� I heartily agreed. I think it would be a damn shame to see the golden arches spring up around the Zocalo, spoiling its beauty and charm. However, the last children we encountered at the Zocalo, were so thrilled to get their hands on a half-used ketchup packet which they had grabbed off Brett's plate, hardly looked in danger of obesity or the corruption of their taste for good Oaxacan cuisine.

Maybe these Activists would do well to take some time away from the war against the �McZocalo� to wage a war against poverty and malnutrition. Just a thought. ****

AND THIS TIME I AIM TO SEE THE SHOW!

On an unrelated topic, Frog Holler is playing tonight in NYC at the Rodeo Bar. The Rodeo Bar bills itself as having the best Margarita in NYC, I don�t know if it�s the best but it sure is strong. I went there to see Frog Holler a few months back.

We had planned on arriving early to get a good seat but as we drove in, and since the show was on a Saturday at 10 PM, we hit massive traffic so by the time we got there, all the tables were full luckily there was some space at the bar.

Brett and I sat down and had a margarita while we waited for our dinner order to arrive. The food was good, the margaritas were only okay taste-wise, but generous in proportion. They were served in those red plastic SOLO cups with the white interior.

When Brett asked if I wanted another I said �Sure, why not?� I was feeling fine � barely buzzed. Well, within ten minutes of getting the second round I was stinking drunk! I mean rip-roaring, room spinning, stumble fuck drunk.

I vaguely recall going to the bathroom which was upstairs, kinda sorta remember falling down said stairs then shuffling back through the crowd, slumping on my stool and saying to Brett, �I am sooooooo drunk.� For apparent reasons, we left.

Around 6 am I sat straight up in bed and shouted, �What a jip! I missed the whole thing.� Brett, by way of cheering me up said, �Yeah, but on the way home you drove great!� God, I love that man!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!